Spring Resolutions – mindfulness and the art of a better blog

I have been a very slack blogger of late. I’ve been lured by the quick hit you get from Facebook and Instagram, the instantaneous-ness of it rather than sitting and planning a post.

And then I heard myself say something ridiculous, and realised I needed to remove my foot from my posterior and hop to it.

I said “I haven’t had time to blog”.

Girlfriend, you live in a tent and your biggest daily decision is whether to go and sit on the beach in the morning or the afternoon. You have nothing BUT time.

So, I’m reconnecting with my blog. Expect a flurry of activity! But as the first Spring morning of the year dawns, I’m also working on myself. Because if I think I don’t have time to write a blog post, I clearly need help.

I started off yesterday, trying to get my meditation mojo happening again. Harper was asleep on the beach next to me, the boys were fishing. I closed my eyes and tried to focus on my breathing.

“What are you doing?”

Mackenzie had returned from practising her seagull calls further down the beach.

I explained that I was meditating and asked her to join me. Which she did for all of about 3 seconds and then started poking me with a stick.

Perhaps the blogging bit will be easier than the mindfulness.

Leave a Reply

